WhatsApp is testing a new Restricted Groups Feature which will give more power to group administrator. Group Admin will be able to restrict all other members from sending text messages, photographs, videos, GIFs, documents, or voice message. According to WABetaInfo, a site which tests new WhatsApp features early, the messaging platform has submitted the WhatsApp Restricted Groups Feature setting via Google Play Beta Programme in version 2.17.430.
The Restricted setting can only be activated by group administrators. Group Admin can keep sharing media and conversation as normal as they restrict other members. Once the setting gets restricted by a group administrator, the other members will have to settle for only reading messages and not be able to respond any kind of message.
Once restricted setting activated, you can use Message Admin button to post a message or share media to the group. The message or media need an approval by the administrator of the group, who will decide whether it will be seen by other members of a group or it should be rejected completely.
“A group can be restricted once every 72 hours but thanks to the 2.17.430 beta, we discovered that WhatsApp will be finally able to change this value from the server,” the website said.
The WhatsApp Restricted Groups Feature is currently disabled by default and can be expected to be available via a stable version release in the near future. Anyone can enable the Restricted group feature in the group chat with the permission of group administrator. The setting changed every 72 hours, that means group members can be silenced for a few hours at a time.
WABetaInfo, which tracks upcoming WhatsApp features wrote: “WhatsApp will prevent the group creator to be deleted from the group by other administrators. This will help the group creator to have the full control of the group. The administrators will be able to choose if other participants can modify the subject of the group, its icon, and its description.”
This feature is currently supported by Android beta users, but WhatsApp has disabled this feature on its servers. At a moment WhatsApp group Administrator has the permission to add or remove members to the group. Members are free to post anything in the group.
Additionally, WhatsApp has rolled out “delete messages for everyone” feature that recalls messages send to a wrong person or a group within 7 mins. WhatsApp has 1.2 billion monthly active users, so it is available in more than 50 different languages around the world and in 10 Indian languages. let us know your feedback about this new feature in our comment section below.
JOIN US VIA EMAIL
Subscribe to Us and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.
Thank you for subscribing.
Something went wrong.