The Next Android will not be Named After a Dessert

Next big update of the Android is Android Q, which is now announced has Android 10. Previously for 10 years, Android is releasing its operating system in the name of the dessert. This Thursday Google announced the next version of the Android operating System officially as Android 10. They have also confirmed in their official blog, they are changing the way of its name of the Android releases in order to make clear and relatable for all the global users.


Till now each and every previous version of the Android operating system is being named after desserts in alphabetical order. Android 10 is having a refreshed logo with the Android robot face above the title. The color of the logo is being changed from Green to Black in order to bring better visibility. Although it is a very small change, Google has experienced that green is difficult to read especially in the case of the people with visual impairments.

This official updated logo will be rolled out by Google in the final release of Android 10 in upcoming weeks. According to the official statement made by VP of product management Android Sameer Samat, they have changed the name of the release which was basically named after internal code names as per desserts. The naming was also chosen in alphabetical order for each and every Android operating system releases.

The android operating system is a global operating system, so it is focused on the name which is every user in every part of the world. So, the version of the Android operating system is named as Android 10. Although there are several desserts out in the world which are named by ‘Q’. But Android is currently having 2.5 billion active devices, it is time to make a change in order to make the next update relatable to everyone.


This year the Android is named as Android 10 and the next year it will be Android 11 and it will proceed so on. This was the first Android version names according to the deserts.

  • Android 1.5 – Cupcake
  • Android 1.6 – Donut
  • Android 2.0 and Android 2.1 – Éclair
  • Android 2.2 – Froyo
  • Android 2.3 and Android 2.4 – Gingerbread
  • Android 3.0, Android 3.1 and Android 3.2 – Honeycomb
  • Android 4.0 – Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Android 4.1 – Jelly Bean
  • Android 4.4 – Kitkat
  • Android 5 – Lollipop
  • Android 6 – Marshmallow
  • Android 7 – Nougat
  • Android 8 – Oreo
  • Android 9 – Pie