Facebook use Facial Recognition to Notify Users When Photos of Them Are Uploaded

2
6
xx

Facebook on Tuesday announced a new facial recognition feature called Photo Review. Facebook will alert you when your face shows up in newly posted photos. Facebook’s aim is to make sure you know about the photo and control the photos of you people uploaded, even if they don’t tag you. The new feature will allow you to tag yourself that photo, leave it as it is, ask the uploader to remove a photo or report it to Facebook.

Facebook says it will respect the privacy settings of people who post photos. You won’t receive a notification if you’re not in the audience. The feature will give people confidence that their personal photos are not floating around Facebook. The company tells it has no plan to use facial recognition to enhance ad targeting or content relevancy sorting. Like showing you more News Feed posts from friends who post untagged photos of you. Facebook’s product manager Nipun Mather says that this feature is designed to give people more control and make them feel safe.

Facial




How it Works and the Choices You Have

The Facebook technology analyzes the pixels in photos you’re already tagged in and generates a string of numbers call as a template. When photo and videos are uploaded to Facebook systems, they compare those images to the template.

You can control whether Facebook will recognize you in any photos and videos. Soon you will see a simple on/off switch instead of settings for individual features that use face recognition technology. The company says the on/off switch feature for facial recognition will be designed because of people feedback. Besides they will get simpler control than having to decide for every single feature using face recognition technology. You can learn more about this feature in the help center of your Facebook account settings.

Facial

Along with the photo alert feature, Facebook is using the same facial recognition tech for profile photo safety. In future, you will get a ping if someone uses a photo of you as their profile photo. Many people use a fake account with someone else profile photo. Since profile photos are public, so you should always get a notification about this. The new facial recognition features will be available in your setting soon. Sadly facial recognition will be unavailable in Canada and the European Union.

JOIN US VIA EMAIL

Subscribe to Us and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.