All Android Version Names From A to Z

Android is the most used mobile operating system around the globe. You can find various devices with different specifications and designs running on this operating system. Due to the affordable price range, the majority of the users are using this operating system on a smartphone. In this article, we will discuss all the Android version names along with few details.


Complete Version Names of Android Operating System:

  • Android 1.0 (2008)
  • Android 1.5 Cupcake (2009)
  • Android 1.6 Donut (2009)
  • Android 2.0 Eclair (2009)
  • Android 2.2 Froyo (2010)
  • Android 2.3 Gingerbread (2010)
  • Android 3.0 Honeycomb (2011)
  • Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich (2011)
  • Android 4.1 Jelly Bean (2012)
  • Android 4.4 KitKat (2013)
  • Android 5.0 Lollipop (2014)
  • Android 6.0 Marshmallow (2015)
  • Android 7.0 Nougat (2016)
  • Android 8.0 Oreo (2017)
  • Android 9.0 Pie (2018)
  • Android 10 (2019)

Android officially debited in 2008 and they have managed to provide a high level of customization options along with features for their users. We have listed all the versions’ names of the Android operating system and roll out here with little details.

Android Version Names A to Z

Android 1.0 (2008):

This version of the Android operating system was the first to introduce the majority of the Google apps which include Gmail, Maps, Calendar, and YouTube. They have also introduced the Google Play store which was named as Market in this earlier version.

Android 1.5 Cupcake (2009):

With this version of Android, they have introduced an on-screen keyboard that replaced the physical keyboard. Widgets where are also evolved which can now open third-party apps.

Android 1.6 Donut (2009):

The major focus of this Android version is to provide a user-friendly experience to the users. This version has introduced quick Search Box along with support for different screen sizes. 

Android 2.0 Eclair (2009):

After 1 year of the debut of the Android operating system, they have introduced navigation for maps. They have introduced turn by turn navigation along with a voice navigation guide. Even the web browser used in the Android is now having support for HTML5. This includes support for playing videos in the web browser.

Android 2.2 Froyo (2010):

Nexus phones were introduced with this version of the Android operating system. Google has also redesigned the gallery app along with the introduction of home screen panels. Introduction of PIN lock screen which also gives the best alternative option for pattern locks. Also, Mobile hotspot support was added.

Android 2.3 Gingerbread (2010):

Another Nexus series was deputed with this operating system with several big changes and redesign of home screen and widgets. Multi-touch support was along with support for front-facing cameras.

Android 3.0 Honeycomb (2011):

This version of Android replaced the Classic green accents which were previously used with blue. even users can now review the widgets and how they would look in this version. Complete removal of physical buttons and it was replaced by virtual buttons.

Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich (2011):

This version of the Android operating system was launched with Samsung Galaxy Nexus. They have introduced several features that are provided to the tablet market. Face recognition, data usage analysis, and various other features were added. With every Android version user interface was refined along with the sensitive virtual button.

Android 4.1 Jelly Bean (2012):

There were not many changes done in this version but Google Now was introduced with swiping gesture function. Google Now can provide all the information’s in a single screen to the users. 

Android 4.4 KitKat (2013):

Nexus 5 was released with all-new versions of Android with complete revamp of the operating system. Once again blue accents were replaced with white along with the redesign of stock apps. OK Google search, and was also introduced along with support for full-screen apps.

Android 5.0 Lollipop (2014):

This version introduced the material design, which is now followed and evolves in every next update. The notification panel received several upgrades along with support for RAW image files. Android TV was also introduced with this operating system and it is still now used.

Android 6.0 Marshmallow (2015):

Introduction of media-specific volume control along with upgraded security and support for the fingerprint sensor. 

Android 7.0 Nougat (2016):

This version boosted the multitasking capability is with all-new split-screen mode available for both smartphones and tablets.

Android 8.0 Oreo (2017):

Picture in picture mode and the native split-screen was introduced in this version. Introduction of notification dots along with several notification customizations.

Android 9.0 Pie (2018):

The Classic 3 navigation buttons were replaced with a single pill-shaped button. Digital wellbeing was introduced to analyze the usage of the Android device.


Android 10 (2019):

This version is the whole new rebranding of the Android operating system with new color schemes and logos. Navigation buttons are completely removed and it is entirely accessible by gesture control. The dark mode is full take to save battery and also to be easy on the eyes. This is the latest Android version name. However, before Android 10, Google named the Android version names based on various dessert dishes.

Also Read: How Apple Copied Android And Windows In Its New Version iOS7 [Comparison]


Android has evolved a lot over the years and included various features for the users. We have collected complete information regarding the involvement of the Android operating system from online research and official news. Share this informative article of Android version names with others, so that they get to know about all the versions of the Android operating system.